Indians can use new e-visa service for group events in Thailand

Thailand’s new eVisa On Arrival (eVOA) service for travellers from India and 20 other countries has been launched and is now available for travellers. The eVOA service is applicable for entry at Suvarnabhumi and Don Mueng airports in Bangkok, as well as at Phuket and Chiang Mai airports. The Government of Thailand has developed this facility to promote tourism.

Considering the exponential growth in Indian outbound MICE and leisure travellers to Thailand, a seamless visa process is likely to encourage even further growth in travel to the destination. Significantly, of 1.5 million Indians who visited Thailand in 2018, over 900,000 used the old, visa-on-arrival service at airports. The new eVOA service allows travellers to avoid long queues and eliminates the need to fill up application forms or other documentation on arrival or arrange for payment in local currency Thai Baht which can be irksome for travellers.

In case of urgent travel to Thailand, visitors can also use the online express service for faster processing, and by paying an additional service fee, travellers can get their eVOA approvals within 24 hours.

Commenting on this service, Pol. Lt. Gen. Surachate Hakparn, Commissioner of the Thailand Immigration Bureau, said: “With the eVOA service, we are proud to offer a new age digital solution that enhances the overall experience for the modern day traveller who seeks to visit Thailand from 21 countries across the globe. In our cooperation with the world’s largest outsourcing and technology services specialist for governments and diplomatic missions VFS Global, we aim to meet the objective of increasing tourism to the country through this solution especially taking into consideration the all-important security aspect that allows pre-check of travellers prior the arrival, as it offers time to the Immigration Bureau for effective assessment.”

Besides India, the eVOA facility is available for nationals of Andorra, Bulgaria, Bhutan, China, Cyprus, Ethiopia, Fiji, Kazakhstan, Latvia, Lithuania, Maldives, Malta, Mauritius, Papua New Guinea, Romania, San Marino, Saudi Arabia, Taiwan, Ukraine and Uzbekistan.