India relaxes e-Visa rules to enable longer stays and multiple entries

India has further liberalised the e-visa norms and duration of stay for e-Tourist as well as e-Business visas to enable more seamless inbound visits.

One of the changes is the decision to extend the duration of stay under e-Visa to one year with multiple entry. Previously, the duration of stay permitted under both e-Tourist and e-Business Visa was 60 days with maximum two entries. While making the duration of e-Visa one year and multiple entry, the government has also made the maximum duration of stay, per entry, 90 days and 180 days for e-Tourist Visa and e-Business Visa, respectively. E-Tourist Visa holders from countries like USA, UK, Canada and Japan, can stay for 180 days per entry, without requiring registration.  On an e-Business visa continuous stay during each visit shall not exceed 180 days in case of nationals of all countries who are eligible for an e-visa.

As part of the new guidelines, the Republic of Korea is to be granted Visa on Arrival (VoA). This facility is currently available only to Japan. The Indian government has also decided to increase the number of ports where e-Visa entry is permitted to 28 from the current 26 by including Port Blair and Bhubaneswar.